Goodbye house..

Before this house, I wasn’t a photographer. I wasn’t a Mom of two. I wasn’t married, or even engaged. So many life-changing events and memories are bound here and saying goodbye is awfully bittersweet. I should’ve thought to do this before I took the pictures down from the walls and boxed up the contents on the shelves, but oh well… Just a few random pictures of the random corners of the place we’ve known as home for the past five years. So long 600 castain Drive… xoxo

This is the chair I sat in, probably 10 or more times a day to smoke a cigarette and gaze out at the neighborhood. Thank goodness I have long kicked that nasty, nasty habit.

Those are ancient azalea bushes outside of the window. In the spring when they are in full bloom, the entire bathroom has a pinkish, sunlit haze.

Those are ancient azalea bushes outside of the window. In the spring when they are in full bloom, the entire bathroom has a pinkish, sunlit haze.

My favorite spot in the whole house, our bedroom. I went bold and painted it my favorite color and don't regret it one bit. The prettiest light falls through these windows every evening, and this spot is especially memorable for me, because this is where I spent most of the last year nursing and tending to my colic little baby.

My favorite spot in the whole house, our bedroom. I went bold and painted it my favorite color and don’t regret it one bit. The prettiest light falls through these windows every evening, and this spot is especially memorable for me, because this is where I spent most of the last year nursing and tending to my colic little baby.

Those divots on the wall once held ceramic hooks. I somehow managed to break them both. The divots are now "wall art".

Those divots on the wall once held ceramic hooks. I somehow managed to break them both. The divots are now “wall art”.

Baby wipes on the ledge. Sunlight on the wall.

Baby wipes on the ledge. Sunlight on the wall.

I spend way too much time with these guys.

I spent way too much time with these guys.

That bell in the middle of the door? Yeah, that’s the loudest old doorbell you ever heard. And that window to the right was home to a weighty prism that cast little rainbows across the foyer every morning.

Here lies the toilet my first born was potty trained on.

Here lies the toilet my first born was potty trained on.

Our blue kitchen, where I finally learned how to cook. It should be noted, this was an incredible and unexpected accomplishment.

Our blue kitchen, where I finally learned how to cook. It should be noted, this was an incredible and unexpected accomplishment.

Many friends and family have layed their heads here in our guest bed.

Many friends and family have layed their heads here in our guest bed.

The children's room. The room I tiptoe in every night and peek on the children.. You know, just to make sure they're breathing.

The children’s room. The room I tiptoed in every night to peek on the children.. You know, just to make sure they were breathing.

Watching the kids play in the yard through the kitchen window..

The kitchen window, my second favorite spot.. Hours spent washing dishes, cooking, hanging with friends and family, and watching the children play outside.

The highest swing in the world.

The highest swing in the world.

I'd say this ol' mailbox has many good years left in her.

I’d say this ol’ mailbox has many good years left in her.

So long 600 Castain Drive xoxo

So long 600 Castain Drive xoxo

10 thoughts on “Goodbye house..

  1. it’s bitter sweet right? I am really going to miss photos of that little boy on your bed lol! that’s what I think of when I think of you. beautiful post and photos and can’t wait to see the new beautiful you find. xo

  2. What a “big girl” you have become. I say this with pride and love. I dont ever think i told you how great it was the day you made your re-appearance into the world of the Hitts :-). I am very proud to call you my Niece. You and Jon have a beautiful family. Ya’ll will accomplish amazing things in your life. I LOVE YOU very much…Aunt Karen

  3. Touching photos and you brought me to tears. It’s tough to leave a place with so many memories, but you will make so many new memories in the future. This is only the beginning.

  4. Ash, as always you have captured the moments and memories in such as way that has pulled on my heart strings! Many more memories are to be made and life the stars only know where life will lead you and your family to next…You have always been an inspiration and now have allowed us all to have a glimpse of your life through your camera…I love you like a sister! now here is an idea…write a note and leave it behind a lightswitch face/cover for someone else to stumble upon one day…I will miss this house so much (too)!

  5. Beautiful………simply beautiful……………………Aunt Anne (I especially like that my quilt is in one of the photos!!!

Leave a Reply

