Light and the Everyday

I don’t think I took a single photo last year that wasn’t outdoors, at sunset, shooting directly into the golden, setting sun. I had an itch and the only cure was more backlight ;-P. Well times they are changing and now I’m obsessed with shadows- contrasts of shadows and light, directional light, indoor light.. I want to make images that not only have interesting light, but ones that authentically represent what’s in front of me. This is a huge challenge. It’s easy to take a pretty picture of a little girl in a cute dress in a field of flowers at sunset. It’s not so easy to capture everyday things in an artistic, creative and emotional way. These types of images are much more subjective and may not appeal to everyone- and it takes a bit of bravery on my part to post pictures that are so drastically different from what used to be ‘my style’. But I feel so good about this new challenge and have been pushing myself to see new light and capture it- and to boldly bring my big, cumbersome dslr to places it’s never gone before. So here is a lil’ collection of what I’m proudest of lately.

meet gretta. she’s a little bean.

DSC_4651

my friend meg’s house. came to pick her up for work and brought my camera because she lives in a charming old house with windows on every wall. and her house is always full of cute kids to photograph too.

DSC_4672

gretta bean, cute as can be.

DSC_4677

i gave her a little push for this one.

DSC_4701

4:00. the rest of the brood arrives home from school.

DSC_4703

surprisingly, they are hamming it up.

DSC_4707

vayle climbs door frames.

DSC_4717

a boy named oscar. window light.

a boy named oscar. window light.

DSC_4728

DSC_4732

DSC_4735-Edit

DSC_4744

meet max. i fondly refer to him as maxipad.

meet max. i fondly refer to him as maxipad.

it's saturday morning now, and biscuit is curious as to what's going on beyond the window.

it’s saturday morning now, and biscuit is curious as to what’s going on beyond the window.

this little terror, i.e. my son, keeps our entire household sleep deprived with his endless night wakings. last night i fell asleep with him in my arms, laying in bed, after nursing him three or four times..as we both succumbed to slumber, our limbs loosened and he slipped off the edge of the bed.. straight to the floor. i want to note this is the only time i have dropped my baby on the floor ;-)

this little terror, i.e. my son, keeps our entire household sleep deprived with his endless night wakings. last night i fell asleep with him in my arms, laying in bed, after nursing him three or four times..as we both succumbed to slumber, our limbs loosened and he slipped off the edge of the bed.. straight to the floor. i want to note this is the only time i have dropped my baby on the floor 😉

DSC_4811

DSC_4822

is it just me, or are they smiling at one another?

is it just me, or are they smiling at one another?

meiners road. my namesake, heritage, history, family and current address.

meiners road. my namesake, heritage, history, family and current address.

our new home does not have a fenced in yard. our deaf dog would surely not mix well with the highway in front of the property, so walk her we must..

our new home does not have a fenced in yard. our deaf dog would surely not mix well with the highway in front of the property, so walk her we must..

after two weeks of rain and grey, these golden rays of morning light are a welcome respite.

after two weeks of rain and grey, these golden rays of morning light are a welcome respite.

oh, tallula.

oh, tallula.

DSC_4880

waiting for grandpa to pick her up for horse lessons.  i notice the light streaming in from the kitchen window and ask her to please stay there while i get my camera. she then fidgets as all 5 year olds do.

waiting for grandpa to pick her up for horse lessons. i notice the light streaming in from the kitchen window and ask her to please stay there while i get my camera. she then fidgets as all 5 year olds do.

DSC_4913

yes, the runny nose strikes again.

yes, the runny nose strikes again.

thanks for visiting my everyday 🙂

6 thoughts on “Light and the Everyday

  1. I love each of these Ashley! Last year like you I realized I wanted to find light everywhere Not just during golden hour and its been a fun journey. My heart relates to your words here so much!

  2. so fantastic. I was the same way-sunflare sunflare sunflare lol! then something changed and I wanted something different. I love that shadow of your daughter walking the dog.
    and we are also in the same boat of boys not sleeping. and he is straight up addicted to nursing.

  3. I have been on Meiners Rd. a hundred times but never realized how beautiful it can be. The beauty of the sun rays after so many dreary days brings a song to my heart. Devyn adds to the ambiance. LOL

Leave a Reply

