good-bye, old mandeville

i grew up in a place called old mandeville. a sleepy little town on lake pontchartrain, just north of new orleans. although it’s not quite sleepy anymore, it’s still a charming little neighborhood. for many years i’ve dreamt of escaping the southern heat, mosquitos and swamps for higher, drier pastures. now that that time has come, i’m feeling awfully bittersweet about departing from the place i know as home. in an effort to preserve the memory of it, i’ve collected images of the most memorable corners and nooks; places i’ve passed daily for almost 34 years. i spent one saturday afternoon weaving a bike through the old streets, savoring all of the quaint southern beauty and saying goodbye..

1 2 3 (2) 4 (2) 5 6 7 9

10

12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 (2) 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 38 38b 39 40 42 43 44 45 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65if you’d like to learn a little more about mandeville, you can read here.

12 thoughts on “good-bye, old mandeville

  1. ashley. well wishes on your new journey. will miss seeing you and your family on our stops home. and as always i truly enjoyed your photographs. love from oscar, cordelia and Melissa.xo

  2. Love it! Your pictures take me right back to 10 years old on my own bicycle! A great place to grow up. Can’t wait to see your new journey in Idaho! And hey, you can always come back to visit!!!

  3. i am in love with this ashley!!!!! I live in the town that i grew up in and am now totally inpsired to do a project like this of my own-sometimes when we live in the same place for so long, day to day we can overlook the beauty of it all and I was reminded how lucky i really am to live in such an amazing little part of the world. Thank you for your beautiful perspective!

  4. These are lovely Ashley!! I come from a small town too and couldn’t wait to “get out” as I go older. My parents still live there and now I like to come home. Good luck on your journey my friend!

  5. as you already know we are headed to new orleans in June and you have made me even more excited. when I look at these I can feel the air. the picket fence, the swamp grass, and wooden buildings are all huge reminders of that place. So every time we go Brant and I go to the blacksmith shop (I think that’s what it is called) it’s a bar and has no electricity. My FAVORITE place there. can wait to see the new house!!

  6. Ashley…these are beautiful. I think i recognized your grandmothers house in these… Hope ya’ll are settled in your new home. Love ya’ll. Gathering at Aunt Anne’s coming up and we will miss ya’ll. Aunt Karen

Leave a Reply

