10 on 10 ~ october

two months ago, a very defining moment in life transpired. i walked devyn into class on the first day of first grade; i bent down to say goodbye, leaning in for a kiss, and was greeted with a look of unmitigated horror. that was the first day i ever heard those fated words: “mom, you’re EMBARRASSING me.” and so the transition began.

this month’s 10 on 10 follows our typical weekday morning as devyn readies for school. a girl on the verge of independence, who chooses her own outfits, brushes her own hair, makes her own bowl of cereal, bolts out of the car without looking back, yet still wiggles her way into our bed at night whenever she can.

DSC_1584 DSC_1602 DSC_1637 DSC_1647 DSC_1648 DSC_1651 DSC_1675 DSC_1759 DSC_1760 DSC_1786 DSC_1789up next is ginger unzueta, the architect of our little group- one of the kindest and most generous souls i’ve ever had the pleasure of connecting with- and her photography is beautiful to boot.

16 thoughts on “10 on 10 ~ october

  1. Your photos are always such a gift to view, I feel like I said that before but I truly mean it. You rock girl! and I KNOW Ella will do that to me too… EH!!!

  2. You know what? I’m one of your biggest fans. If you were near, I’d hire you to come tell my family’s story through photos in a heartbeat. I love your storytelling and your images are to die for! Love your work Ashley<3

  3. Awesome storytelling Ashley! I wish you lived closer to me, to shoot my family!! You are so great at making people want to jump in your images. 😉

  4. I am bawling over here! It won’t be long until I am in the same boat and boy I am not looking forward to it. I know they have to grow up, but this part of it makes me so sad.

  5. Dude, you could take a picture of a turd and it would be something I’d frame and hang in my house. I seriously marvel at your skillz and adore your fresh, honest take on life. Ok, I’ll stop before people start thinking I’m obsessed. Which I am.

  6. the way you tell a story through images is fascinating to me. you are so damn talented and good at what you do. seriously. there’s a cinematic quality to your work that i also love about it…it feels like i’m watching a still movie (if that makes any sense?). have you ever played around with video? i think you would be fantastic at it.

    • Thank you so, so much for your generous and sincere words. That seriously gives me so much confidence and motivation and assures me I am moving in the right artistic direction… I have used my d600 to record a few videos of the children, but they are very rudimentary. Maybe one day I can take a class and explore that more.. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  7. Hi, lovely Ashley! I’ve been trying to comment but my ipad keeps failing for some reason. I’m here on the MAC to see your beautiful images, once again. I love this set. Your daughter totally reminds me of myself at the same age. Little Miss Independent. She’s awesome. Great story of her morning. Jx

  8. You capture such real authenticity in your images ..something so real you can feel it. I can feel the ice, hear the students all in the school yard. You have been given a gift with your camera Ashley. Something special is inside of you. I see it every time I am here. And thank you..for these words. You are much too kind, but I am grateful this group brought you in my life. xo

Leave a Reply

