Mandalay Nature Trail

It’s week four of back-to-school. Devyn has her first year of all online, live classes, and Wyatt and I are plugging away through the sixth grade curriculum. The littles are going to a preschool for a few hours during the week, which gives us a small but much welcomed block of time to focus (quietly!) on studies. This past week we were able to finish our schoolwork by Friday, which gave us a few hours to do something out of the ordinary. So, after dropping off the short fellows, Wyatt and I took off for a little nature walk; The former armed with his new camera drone, and I with my dusty old Nikon. Sadly, my 35mm lens no longer focuses automatically, so until I’m ready to fork up a bunch of Benjamins, I get to enjoy adventures in manual focusing with poor eyesight. But, I actually really love the dreamy quality to a slightly unfocused image, especially when the light is glorious like it was for our excursion. And, it was such a treat to spend some one-on-one fun time with one of my own. (Also a treat to make time for photography again!) …An altogether blessed day.

his true colors 😛
pretty little things..
Wyatt kept trying to bogart the camera. He did pretty well with it!
Treading somewhat cautiously. We crossed paths with two black snakes (species unknown).

Giant (garden?) spider… also saw a large orb weaver with an enormous web above our heads.
tiny beauty

Louisiana is basically a jungle.
Look closely. There goes the drone..
If sunshine is this beautiful, what will heavenly light be like??
Heading back.

Behold, the lubber grasshopper. We also spotted an enormous, fuzzy, fire engine red ant but he was too fast for my manual focus.

Leave a comment